Surah Maryam (19) 15/10/2015

bismi_65

With the name of Allah Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Surah 19 (Maryam)

The Dua of Zakariya AS

Verse 4-6: Praying: “O my Lord! Infirm indeed are my bones, and the hair of my head does glisten with grey: but never am I unblest, O my Lord, in my prayer to Thee! “Now I fear (what) my relatives (and colleagues) (will do) after me: but my wife is barren: so give me an heir as from Thyself,- “(One that) will (truly) represent me, and represent the posterity of Jacob; and make him, O my Lord! one with whom Thou art well-pleased!”

Most parents are concerned about the feeding, clothing and education of their children and seeing them grow up to be successful. We learn from this dua of Zakariya AS that even more important than that is seeing our children grow up to be models of righteousness and torch bearers of Islam.

Further reference is Surah 25 verse 74

And those who pray, “Our Lord! Grant unto us wives and offspring who will be the comfort of our eyes, and give us (the grace) to lead the righteous.”

Continues tomorrow InshaAllah…

